Re-furbishing a Sunken Boat

If it's about trawler yachts, how we equip and maintain them, and what great fun we have voyaging, cruising or living aboard, post here.

Re-furbishing a Sunken Boat

Postby mccallr » Fri Jul 30, 2010 3:42 pm

I have been renovating my boat for the past two years, slowly replacing everything except the AC, refrigerator, and oven.

Traveling down the ICW in 10.5' of water at Palm Coast, FL., we hit something under water in the channel. Steering was disabled and loss of prop power on the port side was experienced. the boat had to be towed in. It took the tow baot 3 hrs to show up and 5 hrs to tow the boat into the closest boat works. Arriving around 2am, by 7am she had sunk in 8' of water next to the pier where she was tied up.

The boat was pulled out and dry docked by 2pm that day. Out of the water, it was discovered that the port prop and shaft had been jammed back against the port side rudder, bending the prop end of the shaft and bending the port rudder back against the botom of the boat. Otherwise, there was not a scratch on the bottom. It is believed that the water entering the boat was held of by the new rule bilges (3) in the boat until the latter part fo the towing. Then is seems that the prop shaft was moved sufficiently to allow enough water to enter the boat to over ride the bilge pumps, ultimately sinking the boat.

The engines have 500 hrs on them and the new generator has around 440 hrs (new to the boat, however, it had 200 hrs when installed.). All have been pickled.

I am looking for suggestions/ideas and sources on restoring this 1994 Carver 390. The boat will require:

1. A new Interior and furniture. (The head liners have oil markings where the water level was.)

2. Rewiring. (This includes replacing the elecrtical control box.)

3. Truing the port pro shaft and both props. (I understand a used shaft might be found or a shop could straighten out the shaft).

4. Replacing all of the electrical items on board.